The November Years

Miz Quickly Day 4 – Word list

I didn’t ease into being careful
it came quite suddenly with a thud
flat on my back, head on concrete,
at the entrance of the mall. Busy mall.

Aging has sentenced me – the rest of my life
I must watch every step, every movement
taking care to wait a second for balance.
A required effort of forethought to

be full of care, and esp. on stairs,
use restraint, no more running up
and down. Old lady mail in the P.O. box.
SS, Medicare. AARP. Hearing aids. Life alert.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

14 Responses to The November Years

  1. Jules says:

    I hear you. I just joined ‘That” Club (last month officiallly anyway).
    Take care and do all you can to be happy and healthy!!

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Misky says:

    Yes to three of those. No hearing aid or Life Alert thingy yet. I do have a walking stick for when my hip occasionally acts up. Falling is a nasty business. I did the splits on the icy patio a few years back, and my knees haven’t been the same since. All because I wanted to empty the kitchen bin. Household chores will be the death of us yet.

    Like

  3. whimsygizmo says:

    I love that this line can be read several ways:
    “Aging has sentenced me”

    Yes, we are often trapped in our own aging skin…but it also gives us more words, and also more time to wrangle them into lines.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. barbcrary says:

    I like “I didn’t ease into being careful” — that sense of being caught unaware, even though you know better, and then it hits you right in the face, literally sometimes.

    Like

  5. Ron. says:

    Fine work indeed. And welcome aboard.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. qbit says:

    “I didn’t ease into being careful” – none of us do!

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment