Sarah

I put my hand on the arm of the woman,
my grey hand upon her grey sleeve,
and she leads me through the echoing emptiness.
— excerpt from “The Blindman’s Song,” by Rainer Maria Rilke

An accident at birth and she is blind
only ever knowing a particular emptiness.
She navigates her world with touch,
hearing more acute, smelling her world
and a bit of a sixth sense of intuiting.

But she is aware of the eyes on her
wondering, judging, pitying, assessing.
Aware of whispering or lowered voices
and even people who rudely stare.
I think they are scared by her blindness.
  
She takes my arm as I try to lead
(stairs coming up, table here, drink to
right as I guide her hand to the straw).
She’s patient with my attempts to help.
She takes my proffered arm trustingly.

Process notes: I met Sarah when she was 13, she’s now 30. We have been going out once a month for dinner for the past several years. When she was born a mistake was made that led to her blindness and also, I assume, Asperger’s Syndrome. She lives at home with her dad and is examining going to an assisted living facility.

dVerse Feeling a Bit Nostalgic Today! Posted by lillian in Poetics
Images by Catrin Welz-Stein

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

18 Responses to Sarah

  1. Helen says:

    Your poem and notes touched me in a profound way, thank you.

    Like

  2. This poem and your commentary are very moving, Debi 🌺

    Like

  3. lillian says:

    A wonderful poem for Sarah….I know Catrin the artist would be touched by your response to her image. To live in darkness….to find light in ways other than sight….I’m glad you are her friend.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Beautiful poem. I was so touched by the note that I re-read the lovely poem .

    Like

  5. A very moving and beautiful poem, Debi.

    Like

  6. It must be a wonderful blessing to help such a great being… it sounds that she gives you as much as you give her.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. pvcann says:

    Yes, so moving Debi. I love how bring out that she is aware – that the blind can see, and sometimes more clearly.

    Liked by 1 person

  8. msjadeli says:

    She’s blessed to have you there.

    Liked by 1 person

  9. Grace says:

    This is a very touching and moving poem. Your friendship means a lot to her.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment