Life, Love and Chocolate Cake

Poets and Storytellers prompt by Rosemary Nissen-Wade  – please let your writing be inspired by the phrase ‘an elegant sufficiency.’

I have been sated,  
lavished with love
fulfilled as a mother
lover, friend

I have had too much
too little wanted none
wanted more.

I have feasted on beauty
art, the written word,
imagination, nature.

I have languished from
betrayal, from hurt
sorrow has raked my heart

All the things that make
up being human, emotions
believing…  absurd to sublime

I’ve survived, thrived, been so blessed
and when it’s over I will honestly say
I’ve had an elegant sufficiency of life.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

16 Responses to Life, Love and Chocolate Cake

  1. Misky says:

    Gosh, this is splendid. I can certainly empathise with the second stanza.

    Like

  2. Wonderful! It sounds to me like an absolute feast.

    Like

  3. Truly beautiful, Debi ❤

    ~David

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I have had too much
    too little wanted none
    wanted more. – indeed, life has to that crazy, sad, happy mix to become elegantly sufficient!

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Your gratitude for a full life resulted in a rather elegant look-back through prose.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. alan1704 says:

    This is great and is really on the ball. Love it.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. A good middle-aged thought.

    Like

  8. Love this, Debi! A perfect title, as well.

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a comment