A View from the Edge of Eternity

Spiritual things have a different scale now
than when I was young and in my prime.
My beliefs have shrunk and expanded,
the distortion has been baffling- is baffling.

For instance, what is Heaven?
A literal place? A new being? Something else?
Do I really want to go on eternally?
Even in a body that never tires?
Never gets sick?
Will I sleep? Eat? Love? Make love?
Will those things even matter in
the light of His presence?
Am I looking for one long festive
of happiness and entertainment?

What happens to ennui
After the first millennia?
After the first megaannum?

I suspect, if Heaven is real,
if we are eternal beings, if
man’s interpretations are
on target, I suspect, we are
going to wake up after death
and look around us and say,
This is so much better than
I ever dreamed or could have
ever dreamed.

Or maybe I’ve just read way too
much science fiction in my life.

Poetic Bloomings Prompt #495 – POV (A VIEW FROM __________)

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A View from the Edge of Eternity

  1. Misky says:

    it is a puzzle!

    Like

Leave a comment